Articles from November 2013

November 30
What The Duck #88

We've come to the end of another week here at dpreview, and as our thoughts drift to weekend shooting opportunities, it's time to take things a little less seriously. Aaron Johnson's comic strip ‘What the Duck’ is just the thing, taking a gently satirical look through the lens of a photographically inclined waterfowl. You can find it published here (and in our newsletter) every week; we hope you enjoy it, and your weekend.

What to buy and why: Entry-level mirrorless cameras

The holidays are a great time to take pictures — and they're a great time to get a camera for yourself or for a loved one. With more than 50 cameras going through the hands of the DPReview team over the year, we've seen it all (or so we think). Based on our collective knowledge we hope this guide will help you make an informed decision on which camera will fit your needs. In this final part, we look at entry-level mirrorless cameras

Entry-Level Mirrorless Camera Roundup 2013

What point-and-shootable mirrorless camera should I buy?

November 29
Camera review: Google turns its attention to imaging on new Nexus 5

The Nexus 5 is Google’s latest showcase smartphone, bringing with it Android 4.4 (aka KitKat) and some new imaging features. This time around, Google is talking up the Nexus 5’s camera, highlighting its optical image stabilization and revamped HDR mode. We put the phone through its photographic paces to see how it holds up in the real world on connect.dpreview.com.

DPReview Gear of the Year Part 3: Olympus OM-D E-M1

A lot of equipment passes through our Seattle and London offices, everything from high-end cameras to inexpensive accessories. A lot of it gets reviewed, but we can't cover everything. In this series of short articles, DPReview staff will be highlighting their personal standout products of the year. In part 3, Andy Westlake talks about his personal favorite - the Olympus OM-D E-M1.

November 28
Olympus updates firmware for OM-D E-M1, XZ-2, and 12-50mm lens

Olympus has released firmware updates for its OM-D E-M1 mirrorless camera, XZ-2 enthusiast compact, and 12-50mm F3.5-6.3 lens. Version 1.1 for the E-M1 promises improved autofocus and image stabilisation operation, and better image quality in Live Bulb mode. Meanwhile version 1.3 for the XZ-2 should improve autofocus in low light. Click through for full details.

DPReview Top Picks: Stand-out third party lenses

When you buy into a camera system, it can be tempting to only consider lenses of the same make as your camera. But companies such as Sigma, Tamron and Tokina offer some excellent options too. In this article, we're highlighting our pick of stand-out third party lenses. We've chosen them based on their ability to offer something different to the camera manufacturers' own, in terms of either focal length range, maximum aperture, image quality or value. Click through to read all about them.

Photo app promotes creativity with crowd-sourced assignments

A new app for iOS aims to motivate and inspire photographers by merging assignment-based photography with an optional social media element, all in the palm of your hand. OKDOTHIS offers a wide array of categories, including those created by users, with photo assignments that anyone can participate in. Learn more on connect.dpreview.com.

Fujifilm to update firmware for X-Pro1, X-E2, X-E1 and X100S (again)

Fujifilm has announced forthcoming firmware updates for its X-Pro1, X-E2 and X-E1 mirrorless interchangeable lens cameras, and for the X100S fixed-lens large sensor compact. Features promised include customizable Auto ISO, exposure preview in manual exposure mode, improved workflow for in-camera Raw conversion, and the ability to edit filenames in-camera. The update for the X-Pro1 will be available on 5th December; those for the X-E1, X-E2 and X100S on 19th December. Click through for full details.

Nikon Df test scene samples added to first impressions review

Having spent a little more time with a full production unit, we've updated our Nikon Df coverage with images from our studio test scene and some more handling impressions. Nikon's thoroughly retro full-frame Df uses the same 16MP chip first seen in the D4, and provides an unprecedented level of support for legacy lenses. The new scene shows its performance in both daylight and low light, with downloadable image files. As always, you can compare the Df to the increasing number of cameras in our test scene.

November 27
Celebrated photographer Saul Leiter dies, aged 89

Photographer Saul Leiter has died aged 89. Leiter eluded mainstream fame for most of his life, but his body of work, particularly his experiments in abstract street color studies in the middle years of the 20th Century are a continuing inspiration to new generations of photographers. A shy figure, Leiter is the subject of a new film, 'In No Great Hurry' about his life and work which was recently released. 

DPReview Recommends: Best Compact Cameras for Travel

There's a big world out there, just waiting for you to explore it. In our opinion, a camera is one of the best traveling companions you can have. Depending on where you're going, you might have specific priorities. Maybe you're heading to the mountains? Or perhaps you're exploring a city? Or maybe you're doing a round the world tour. Here are our top five recommendations.

Tokina announces Sony Alpha-mount version of 11-16mm f/2.8 II

Tokina has announced that its highly-regarded AT-X PRO 11-16mm f/2.8 DX II fast wideangle zoom for APS-C SLRs will be available in Sony Alpha mount from the start of next year. The 'type II' version adds improved coatings compared to the previous model of the lens. The design is otherwise unchanged, with the same optics and useful 'one touch' focus clutch mechanism. Click through for full details.

What to buy and why: Consumer DSLRs

The holidays are a great time to take pictures — and they're a great time to get a camera for yourself or for a loved one. With more than 50 cameras going through the hands of the DPReview team over the year, we've seen it all (or so we think). Based on our collective knowledge we hope this guide will help you make an informed decision on which camera will fit your needs. In this penultimate part, we look at consumer-level DSLRs.

Consumer SLR Camera Roundup 2013

To improve my general purpose and family photography, which camera should I choose?

DPReview Recommends: Best Waterproof Cameras

Most cameras are delicate objects, and the last thing you want to do is drop them or subject them to wet or freezing conditions. But there are cameras which are specifically designed to handle rough treatment. In this list, we've chosen our top five recommendations for tough cameras. Every model in this list can be dropped, soaked, frozen and, in some cases, crushed. Our recommendations cover the entire class, from stylish compacts that can handle the occasional accident to high-end rugged cameras capable of serious image quality.

November 26
Google reworks Android to allow for Raw imaging

Google has given its camera API a complete makeover in an attempt to make app development easier for programmers. When the new API rolls out, it will allow apps to save Raw files and will also enable burst shooting. Learn more on connect.dpreview.com.

DPReview Recommends: Best Cameras for Beginners

It's that time of year when thoughts turn to gift-giving, and photography is more popular than ever before. Choosing a first camera is extremely important. If you've got a friend or a family member who's taking his or her first steps into the world of photography, we've prepared some recommendations for you, from best cameras for absolute novices, up to models more suitable for a student or budding enthusiast. This is the first in a series of articles giving our current recommendations for various different people and scenarios. Click through to read more.

What to buy and why: High-end pocketable compacts

The holidays are a great time to take pictures — and they're a great time to get a camera for yourself or for a loved one. With more than 50 cameras going through the hands of the DPReview team over the year, we've seen it all (or so we think). Based on our collective knowledge we hope this guide will help you make an informed decision on which camera will fit your needs. In part 4, we look at high-end pocketable compacts.

High-end pocketable compacts 2013 roundup

Which pocketable compact camera should I buy?

November 25
Roger Cicala cynically re-defines photography

Lensrentals' Roger Cicala continues his recent run of fine satirical form with his latest blog post - a series of cynical definitions for widely-used photography terms. We're almost tempted to use it to replace our glossary, as it should be considered recommended reading before commenting on any photography or 'gear' forum. It's certainly going to make us think carefully about the terminology we use in future reviews.

Nostalgic images combine miniatures and real-life backdrops

Michael Paul Smith's photos look like snapshots of classic cars. In reality, they're clever creations that use forced perspective to combine miniatures and real-world backdrops in an utterly convincing final product. His miniatures live in a fictional U.S. town called Elgin Park, a place populated with vintage cars and the trappings of everyday life in the 1950's and 1960's. See gallery

Traveller's bag for mirrorless camera
Looking for a traveller's camera bag for a mirrorless setup, I found the Tamrac Jazz Messenger 2 to be the best (and basically the only one that fit the bill)
What to buy and why: Enthusiast compact cameras

The holidays are a great time to take pictures — and they're a great time to get a camera for yourself or for a loved one. With more than 50 cameras going through the hands of the DPReview team over the year, we've seen it all (or so we think). Based on our collective knowledge we hope this guide will help you make an informed decision on which camera will fit your needs. In part 3, we look at enthusiast compact cameras.

November 24
What to buy and why: Mid-level mirrorless cameras

The holidays are a great time to take pictures — and they're a great time to get a camera for yourself or for a loved one. With more than 50 cameras going through the hands of the DPReview team over the year, we've seen it all (or so we think). Based on our collective knowledge we hope this guide will help you make an informed decision on which camera will fit your needs. In part 2, we look at mid-level mirrorless cameras.

Mid-range Mirrorless camera roundup 2013

A roundup of 2013's mid-range mirrorless digital cameras.

November 23
Rare 1932 Leica fails to set record at Hong Kong auction

A rare Leica camera has been sold at auction in Hong Kong for around $620,000 (~£380,000). The gold-plated 1932 Leica Luxus II is one of only four ever made, and comes in a crocodile skin case. The camera was expected to raise around $1.2 million at auction, but ultimately sold for around half of that amount. Learn more

What to buy and why: Enthusiast interchangeable lens cameras

The holidays are a great time to take pictures — and they're a great time to get a camera for yourself or for a loved one. With more than 50 cameras going through the hands of the DPReview team over the year, we've seen it all (or so we think). Based on our collective knowledge we hope this guide will help you make an informed decision on which camera will fit your needs. In part 1, we look at enthusiast interchangeable lens cameras.

Holiday gift guide for the mobile photographer

'Tis the season for holiday gift guides, including for the mobile photography fanatic in your life. We've got gifts for the Instagram enthusiast, serial smartphone documentary photographer and the DSLR-turned-mobile photography convert. See our extensive smartphone photography gift guide on connect.dpreview.com.

November 22
Enthusiast interchangeable lens camera 2013 roundup

As a keen, enthusiast photographer, what camera should I buy?

Lens reviews update: test data for the Zeiss Otus 1.4/55

DxOMark has just reviewed the Zeiss Otus 1.4/55, a $4000 standard prime for full frame SLRs, and as part of our ongoing collaboration we've added the test data to our lens widget. We've also added test data for the Nikon mount version of Sigma's exceptional 18-35mm F1.8 DC HSM. Click through for more details and analysis, including a comparison between the Zeiss 55mm and the Nikon 58mm f/1.4G, and a link to DxOMark's own review.

Sony Alpha 7 test scene samples added to first impressions review

We've updated our first impressions review of the Sony Alpha 7 with our studio test scene showing image quality for both JPEG and Raw files, making it easier to see the differences between it and its sister model, the Alpha 7R. The new scene also offers downloadable Raw samples of both daylight and low light scenes. As always, you can compare the A7 to the increasing number of cameras in our test scene.

November 21
Sigma fixes Nikon D5300 lens compatibility issues

Sigma has posted a firmware update of SIGMA Optimization Pro, the dedicated software for the SIGMA USB DOCK, that enables the D5300 to be fully functional with five lenses. Learn more

Adobe expands Photoshop and Lightroom offer

When Adobe announced a version of Creative Cloud for photographers in September, there was a catch -- you had to already own Photoshop CS3 or later to qualify for the special pricing. Now Adobe is lifting that requirement for a limited time. Through December 2, 2013, the $9.99 (£8.78/€12,29) per month subscription (for the first year) is available to everyone. Learn more 

November 20
Fujifilm launches free digital magazine for X series owners

Fujifilm has launched a digital magazine for owners of its X series cameras. Available in six languages (English, French, German, Spanish, Russian and Italian), it's available from the Apple Newsstand or Google Play store, or alternatively can be viewed using a web browser. Click through for full details.

DPReview Gear of the Year Part 2: Panasonic Lumix DMC-GM1

A lot of equipment passes through our Seattle and London offices, everything from high-end cameras to inexpensive accessories. A lot of it gets reviewed, but we can't cover everything. In this series of short articles, DPReview staff will be highlighting their personal standout products of the year. In part 2, Allison Johnson comments on her personal favorite - the Panasonic Lumix GM1.

November 19
Google working on Raw format for Android

It looks like Raw capability for Android is in development. After digging into the publicly-available application programming interface (API) for Android 4.4 Kitkat, code-reading sleuth Josh Brown made some observations on his Google+ page that indicate the possibility of storing uncompressed images alongside JPEG ones. 'Looks like Google was working on a new Camera API, but it didn't make the KitKat release', he said. Learn more on connect.dpreview.com

Sigma issues advisory on lens compatibility with Nikon D5300

Sigma has posted a statement on its website regarding incompatibilities between its lenses and the Nikon D5300. Lenses with built-in focus motors may not autofocus correctly in Live View mode, and Optical Stabilisation (OS) may not work correctly. The company says it will provide a free firmware update for affected lenses to fix the issue, but this may not be possible with discontinued models. Click through for full details.

Leica invites entries for 2014 Oskar Barnack Award

Leica has announced the 2014 Leica Oskar Barnack Award international photography competition will be open for entries starting December 15, 2013. The winner of the main category of the Leica Oskar Barnack Award will win a cash prize of €10,000 (~ $13,500) in addition to a Leica M camera and lens, valued at an additional €10,000. Learn more

November 18
Should You Use a UV Filter on Your Lens?

Some photographers use UV filters while others do not. Who is right? I set out the pros and cons as I see them.

French newspaper publishes issue with no photos

At a time when the journalism industry is struggling to stay in business, photojournalists have been hit especially hard. Earlier this year, the Chicago Sun-Times laid-off its entire staff in favor of giving reporters iPhones. The French newspaper Libération showed its support for photographers by publishing its November 14th issue with all the images removed. See the spread

In Photos: Family business documented shipwrecks

The National Maritime Museum in London recently acquired a dramatic shipwreck photo collection from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. John Gibson started a family photography business in the 1860s and took his first photograph of a shipwreck in 1869. His family has created some of the most evocative images of misadventure at sea over the last 125 years. See gallery

November 17
Rare photos of Rolling Stones emerge from estate sale

Photos of the Rolling Stones are not hard to find, but the majority of images from the height of the band's career consist of on-stage performances and posed publicity shots. That's why a stack of photos uncovered at a Southern California estate sale have attracted a lot of attention recently. See gallery

November 16
In Photos: Portraits of the living legends of blues

Since 2008, photographer Lou Bopp has made regular trips down Mississippi's Route 61 — known as 'The Blues Highway' — to document the lives of unknown musicians who have made important contributions to the classic American musical genre. In this work, he recorded the juke joints, roadhouses, and the culture that has supported Mississippi Delta style blues. See gallery

November 15
What The Duck #1413

We've come to the end of another week here at dpreview, and as our thoughts drift to weekend shooting opportunities, it's time to take things a little less seriously. Aaron Johnson's comic strip ‘What the Duck’ is just the thing, taking a gently satirical look through the lens of a photographically inclined waterfowl. You can find it published here (and in our newsletter) every week; we hope you enjoy it, and your weekend.

LG G2 review: First 13MP Android with optical image stabilization

The G2 follows the Optimus G/G Pro as LG's flagship smartphone, with plenty of tech spec to warrant a second look. From its huge 5.2-inch IPS LCD display to its 13MP CMOS sensor with optical image stabilization system, there's a lot here for mobile photography fanatics. We tested out the smartphone's camera capabilities as only Dpreview can: check out our in-depth 10-page review on connect.dpreview.com.

Shooting with the Sony Alpha 7 and Alpha 7R

We've been shooting with Sony's Alpha 7 and Alpha 7R over the past few weeks to get insight into how the compact full-frame cameras behave. While the two models are twins, they're by no means identical, with each sibling very quickly showing its own, distinct personality. We'll be publishing more in the coming weeks as we move towards completing our review, but we wanted to share our perspective now that we've had some experience to inform our opinion.

Sony Alpha 7R test scene samples added to first impression review

We've updated our first impressions review of the Sony Alpha 7R with our studio test scene showing image quality for both JPEG and Raw files. The new scene also offers downloadable Raw samples of both daylight and low light scenes. As always, you can compare the A7R to the increasing number of cameras in our test scene.

November 14
Casio enters enthusiast compact sector with well-specified EX-10

Casio Japan has announced the EX-10 - a flagship high-end compact with a 1/1.7" type sensor and a fast 28-112mm equivalent lens. The model, which will be coming to other markets, features magnesium alloy construction and, like the existing EX-ZR1000, an LCD that flips all the way up, for shooting self-portraits. It also has built-in Wi-Fi and ability to shoot Raw. Learn more

Toshiba ups capacity and speed of its Wi-Fi SD card

Toshiba expanded its lineup up of Wi-Fi enabled SD memory cards with a high capacity 32GB FlashAir II model. The new 32GB card boasts Class 10 speed compared to the previous model's Class 6 speed. The FlashAir II card features a new 'Internet pass thru mode' that enables users to access the card and Internet simultaneously – enabling the ability to upload images in real-time. Learn more

Nikon updates firmware for D3100, D3200, D5100, D5200, and P7700

Nikon has posted firmware updates for the following cameras: D3100, D3200, D5100, D5200, and P7700. More accurate detection of the remaining charge for the EN-EL14a rechargeable li-ion battery is the only fix. Get the update

Apple Raw update brings support for 10 cameras, including D610

Apple recently released Digital Camera RAW Compatibility 5.01 for Aperture 3 and iPhoto '11. The update adds Raw image support for the following 10 cameras: Canon PowerShot G16, Canon PowerShot S120, Fujifilm X-A1, Nikon COOLPIX P7800, Nikon D610, Olympus PEN Lite E-PL6, Panasonic LUMIX DMC-GX7, Panasonic LUMIX DMC-LF1, Sony Alpha ILCE-3000, and the Sony Alpha NEX-5T. Get the update

November 13
Smartphone versus compact camera: Which is best when it comes to zoom?

Nokia says it 'reinvented zoom' with its Lumia 1020 smartphone, but how does it stack up to the zooming prowess of a compact camera? We put Nokia's flagship phone up against Canon's PowerShot S120 in our zoom showdown today on connect.dpreview.com. Click through for more, you may be surprised by the results.

Lens reviews update: test data for the Nikon 58mm f/1.4G

DxOMark has recently reviewed Nikon's AF-S Nikkor 58mm f/1.4G, a high-end (and very expensive) standard prime for full frame SLRs. As a taster for our upcoming review we've added the test data to our lens widget; as usual you can compare it to similar lenses, including the Nikon and Sigma 50mm F1.4s. Click through for more details and analysis, and a link to DxOMark's own review of the Nikon 58mm F1.4.

November 12
Lytro adds 3D viewing capability to its photos

Lytro, the tiny camera that allows you to choose your focus point after your image has been shot, has announced a software update to its desktop and iOS app that allows photos taken with the device to be displayed in 3D. The update lets users show off Perspective Shift processed images in 3D when connected to a 3D-capable TV over HDMI or Apple AirPlay.

CaptureNX 2.4.5 and ViewNX 2.8.2 released with D5300 and Df support

Nikon has released Capture NX 2.4.5 and ViewNX 2.8.2 updates with Raw image support for the new D5300 and Df DSLR cameras. Also added to Capture NX 2.4.5 are menu updates and separate intensity and sharpness adjustments for both luminance and color. 

Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Camera now supports Raw CinemaDNG

Blackmagic Design has announced its Camera 1.5 software update which adds new 12-bit Log CinemaDNG RAW recording to the Pocket Cinema Camera. The CinemaDNG Raw lossless compression works like a ZIP file where the Raw files are compressed during 1080p recording without the loss of any part of the image. This allows videographers to capture files with wider dynamic range for increased flexibility during color correction. 

Galaxy NX First Impressions: An Android-powered camera with promise?

We take a closer look at Samsung's latest Android camera: the Galaxy NX. It's a rather bold experiment that integrates a high-end Android smartphone OS with an interchangeable lens camera. With a 20.3 megapixel CMOS sensor, Samsung NX lens mount, and a tried-and-true mobile operating system, the Galaxy NX offers plenty of intriguing promise. See how we got on at connect.dpreview.com.

DPReview Gear of the Year Part 1: Fujifilm X100S

A lot of equipment passes through our Seattle and London offices, everything from high-end cameras to inexpensive accessories. A lot of it gets reviewed, but we can't cover everything. In this series of short articles, DPReview staff will be highlighting their personal standout products of the year. In part 1, editor Barnaby Britton takes us through his personal favorite - the Fujifilm X100S.

November 11
Pentax K-3 real-world samples gallery

When Ricoh's Pentax K-3 was announced we were intrigued by the 'anti-aliasing simulator' feature, a first for a DSLR. The K-3 allows you to engage its low-pass filtering at the push of a button. We recently shot some real-world samples taken in a range of conditions to see how it stacks up against the current K-5 models. Our gallery was shot on with the anti-aliasing filter set to off (the default setting). See gallery

November 10
Classic photographs recreated in Lego

Video game programer Mike Stimpson loves Lego. He also loves photography. Combining his two passions has resulted in a series of fascinating images that recreate iconic photographs with Lego blocks. From Henri Cartier-Bresson to W. Eugene Smith, see if you can recognize the classic images. See gallery 

November 9
Canon Korea teases new camera, EOS M2 or SL1/100D?

Updated: Canon Korea has put up a page teasing about a new camera release. Showing a camera covered in a white sheet, the teaser text reads, 'November 2013, Canon will start from the white world. Coming soon.' Applying a few Photoshop tweaks reveals details that make the camera look an awful lot like a more familiar digital SLR with a new white finish. A video post on Canon Japan's site today further teases a 'White Kiss.' Click through for more.

Award-winning wildlife photos capture candid moments

An owl in mid-flight, a polar bear peering from under icy waters, to a monkey being blasted by snow are some of the winning images from this year's Wildlife Photographer of the Year competition. Elephants surrounding a watering hole in Botswana by South African photographer Greg du Toit was the overall winner. See gallery 

November 8
Adobe releases Camera Raw 8.3 and Lightroom 5.3 release candidates

Adobe has issued Camera Raw and DNG Converter 8.3 release candidates, along with a similar preliminary version of Lightroom 5.3. ACR 8.3 is designed as different versions for Photoshop CC and Photoshop CS6. DNG Converter is available for free for users of older versions of Photoshop. The latest versions brings support for 15 additional cameras, including most of the latest models from Fujifilm, Nikon, Olympus and Sony. Eight lens correction modules are also added, including support for the Sigma 18-35mm F1.8.

SD card labeling for 4K video announced

As of now there are not many consumer products, aside from a from a few smartphones (and the GoPro HERO3+ Black Edition), that can shoot 4k video. However the SD Association's announcement of new Ultra High Speed Class 3 (U3) card labeling anticipates it becoming more common. The U3 designation guarantees a 30 MB/s constant minimum write speed, making it easier for buyers to know which cards are '4k ready.'

Sample Gallery: LG G2 smartphone images

We could hardly wait to get our hands on LG's newest G2 smartphone to try shooting with its 13MP Optical Image Stabilization camera and huge 5.2-inch IPS LCD display. There's plenty of exciting specs, but how does it translate to photographs? See our first sample gallery of images on connect.dpreview.com.

In Photos: Olympic torch to make first-ever spacewalk

A Russian Soyuz rocket carrying an unlit Olympic torch and three astronauts blasted off to the International Space Station on Thursday ahead of the 2014 Winter Games in Sochi, Russia. On Saturday the ISS crew will take the torch made for the Sochi games on a historic spacewalk. NASA photographer Bill Ingalls was there to document the launch. See gallery

November 7
DxOMark report: Nokia Lumia 925 scores nearly as high as Lumia 1020

Nokia's Lumia 925 is PureView branded but doesn't use the Lumia 1020's large sensor and pixel-binning algorithms. However, the 8.7MP smartphone just scored nearly as well as Nokia's 41MP flagship phone in DxOMark's extensive imaging tests despite the conventional 8.7 MP CMOS sensor. Learn what they found

Roger Cicala gives Nikon D610 a clean bill of health

Lensrentals' Roger Cicala has beaten us to testing the Nikon D610 for oil and dust accumulation - concluding it's 'certainly no worse than other cameras.' Cicala has had an initial look at 25 D610s and a further look after the first ten of them came back from being rented-out, making him uniquely well-placed to comment on the phenomenon. Click through for a link to his article.

Tamron to develop 150-600mm  F5-6.3 ultra-telephoto zoom

Tamron has announced the development of a 150-600mm F5-6.3 zoom lens for full-frame and APS-C sensor cameras. It will feature 20 elements in 13 groups and have a minimum focus distance of 2.7m. Tamron will also include VC (Vibration Compensation) image stabilization and USD (Ultrasonic Silent Drive) technologies. The lens will be developed for Canon, Nikon, and Sony mounts. 

A different point of view: Our Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX7 Review

We've just posted our full review of the Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX7. With a 16 megapixel Four Thirds sensor, in-body image stabilization, and built-in articulated EVF, the GX7 boasts a lot of refinements to tempt enthusiasts away from similar Olympus and Sony offerings. Panasonic engineers have thrown just about everything they've got into this mid-range mirrorless camera, will it find a loyal audience the way its GF1 predecessor did? Click through and read our review.

November 6
Weather-resistant Pentax Limited 20-40mm F2.8-4 zoom lens announced

Ricoh has announced the HD PENTAX-DA 20-40mm F2.8-4 ED, the first zoom lens in its Limited series. It boasts a weather-resistant build (another Limited first) and provides an equivalent focal of length 30.5-61.5mm in 35mm terms when mounted to a Pentax K-mount DSLR body. The lens barrel, hood and cap are all made of aluminum. Click through for the full press release and details.

Ricoh launches Pentax Q-mount ultra-wide-angle zoom

Ricoh has announced the PENTAX-08 WIDE ZOOM lens for Q-mount interchangeable lens cameras. The F3.7-4 ultra-wide-angle compact provides a focal length of 3.8-5.9mm (when mounted to the Pentax Q7 it provides a 35mm equivalent of 17.5-27mm). The lens is equipped with its own shutter and also comes with a built-in neutral density filter. Click through for the full press release and details.

Non-destructive photo editing feature coming in Android 4.4 KitKat

Google is giving a sweet treat to photographers in its new KitKat operating system. Android 4.4 will be shipping with a non-destructive photo editing feature in the native Gallery app. From what we've seen of the software so far, it appears to offer a huge collection of some of the most advanced editing tools available on any mobile photography app. Learn more on connect.dpreview.com.

Fujifilm updates X-system lens firmware for X-E2 compatibility

Fujifilm has updated the firmware for many of its X-system lenses to offer full compatibility with the recently-announced X-E2. The upgrades allow the lenses to work properly with the camera's phase detection AF and, for XF optics, its Lens Modulation Optimizer function. They apply to the 14mm F2.8, 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 OIS, 35mm F1.4, 55-200mm F3.5-4.8 OIS, 60mm F2.4 Macro, and XC 16-50mm F3.5-6.3 OIS lenses. Click through for the download link

Canon offers Dual Pixel AF upgrade for Cinema EOS C100 camera

Canon is offering owners of its Cinema EOS C100 the chance to add Dual Pixel AF to this video-centric camera. This will enable continuous autofocus during recording with all Canon EF lenses, and double one-shot AF speed with 104 fully-supported lenses. Interestingly the upgrade doesn't involve a change of sensor, but instead enables a hitherto-unused hardware capability. However it will require the camera to be sent to a Canon service centre, and isn't free (in the US it will cost $500). 

November 5
Nokia shootout: A sibling rivalry between the Lumia 920, 925, and 928

While Nokia's 41MP Lumia 1020 smartphone has received more than its fair share of publicity this year, the Finnish handset maker also launched two additional phones this year. The Lumia 925 and Lumia 928 are interesting imaging devices in their own right, while software updates have kept last year's Lumia 920 competitive as well. We take another look at the Lumia 900 series in our shootout on connect.dpreview.com.

Nikon Df First Impressions Review: Is this retro done right?

The widely rumored and much-leaked Nikon Df is here. The Df is a 16MP, full-frame DSLR with the sensor from the flagship D4 and the 39-point AF system from the D610 packaged in a body inspired by film cameras from the 1970s. The Nikon Df can't shoot video, but it will accept 50 year-old non-Ai lenses. A lot of Nikon users have been asking for a 'digital FM2' for years. Is the Df that camera? Click through for our first-impressions.

Hands-on with the retro Nikon Df

We've had a chance to spend some time with Nikon's retro Df digital SLR. This full-frame camera, which is designed to resemble Nikon's classic manual focus film SLRs, is loaded with dials for virtually every function imaginable, and is backward compatible with nearly every Nikon F-mount lens ever made. If you want to see the Df from every possible angle, then click to view our hands-on gallery.

Nikon Df combines classic design with modern technology

Nikon has announced the Df, which combines the design and controls from its classic film cameras with the modern technology of a digital SLR. The Df's body resembles that of Nikon's F-series 35mm cameras, complete with dials for shutter speed, aperture, and exposure compensation. Inside, the Df borrows the full-frame CMOS sensor from the D4 and the AF system from the D610. One thing you won't find on the Df is a movie mode. Click the link for the press release, product photos, and pricing.

November 4
'Every six months I want to do something new' Kimio Maki of Sony

Kimio Maki is something of a legend within Sony, and is considered the 'father' of several important products. These include the RX-series of digital cameras -  the groundbreaking RX100 / II and RX1 / R - and also the new Alpha A7 and A7R, which bring full-frame imaging to the mirrorless interchangeable lens market. We caught up with him at this year's Photo Plus Expo in New York. Click through to read our interview.

Real-world samples added to Panasonic Lumix DMC-GM1 first impressions

We've just updated our first impressions review of the Panasonic Lumix GM1 with a gallery of real-world sample images. Panasonic's latest G-series camera underscores the 'Micro' in Micro Four Thirds as one of the smallest interchangeable lens cameras ever brought to market. Despite its size, it still offers a 16 megapixel Four Thirds sensor, 3.0-inch touch screen, and full suite of manual exposure controls. Does its image quality in the field measure up? Click through and see for yourself.

November 3
5 must-have iPad apps for every photographer

Apple's new iPad Air and iPad mini with Retina display got us thinking about what photography apps we'll want to download to our new devices first. We're sharing a few of our favorite iOS tablet apps, from photo editing powerhouses to slick portfolio presentation tools on connect.dpreview.com.

November 2
Robert Capa speaks for himself: 'The camera was far above my head'

'If your pictures aren't good enough, you aren't close enough', said famed photographer Robert Capa. He was certainly close enough to take his iconic 'Falling Solider' photograph during the Spanish Civil War. In a recently discovered radio interview from the 1940s, Capa explains how he took the photo that many have since alleged was staged. Learn more

November 1
Panasonic Lumix DMC-GM1 updated with test scene samples

We've updated our first impressions review of the Panasonic Lumix DMC-GM1 with our studio test scene showing image quality for both JPEG and Raw files. The new scene also offers downloadable Raw samples of both daylight and low light scenes. As always, you can compare the GM1 to a number of other cameras.

Retro Nikon 'DF' emerges from the shadows

The rumored retro-styled full frame camera from Nikon looks to be coming. The latest teaser video from Nikon offers the clearest view of what the camera will look like, with close-up shots of the camera's side, back, and top-plate (including traditional shutter speed dial). The fifth of November looks like it could be memorable for more than just our UK audience. Watch video, see screen shots

Sony Xperia Z1 review: Smartphone with camera-sized sensor

The Sony Xperia Z1 offers a 1/2.3-inch sensor — the same size found in most consumer compact cameras and significantly larger than the 1/3-inch sensors common in smartphones. The comparatively large sensor is combined with a high pixel count of 20.7MP, a fast F2.0 lens and a physical shutter button. We put the Xperia Z1 through our rigorous testing regimen. Read our review on connect.dpreview.com.

Not just any competition: Roger Cicala's First Annual Photogeek Contest

Roger Cicala of LensRentals is man after our own hearts, never happier than when tinkering with lenses and writing about what he finds, however obscure it may turn out to be. And in celebration of this, he's launched what we'd like to think of as the ultimate photo competition: The First Annual Photogeek Geek Photo Contest. Full of entertaining categories, and with at least one hugely desirable prize on offer, it's open for entries until November 15th. It's Roger's competiton so we're not going to reveal too much here; head over to LensRentals and have a look. If nothing else, it should make you laugh.

Samyang offers lens kits for videographers

Korean lens maker Samyang has announced that it will be offering a series of kits aimed at professional filmmakers, enthusiasts and film schools, consisting of a selection of its videography lenses housed in a protective hard case. Four kits will be available: wide-angle and standard three-lens kits for 35mm and Super 35mm cameras, a general-purpose three-lens kit for APS-C sensor camera, and a wide-ranging five-lens kit for 35mm and Super 35mm lens kits. Prices are yet to be announced. Click through for full details.

Stunning images of things invisible to the naked eye

A close up of a corkscrew-shaped plankton, a look into a weaver spider's abdomen, and a microscopic view of a mouse's spine are among the winners of this year's Nikon Small World Photomicrography Competition. Dutch photographer Wim van Egmond took top prize for his Chaetoceros debilis (marine diatom) image. See gallery