January 13
Thanks to Danny Brenner for pointing me to this company press release about a 6.6 megapixel CMOS sensor which is the same size as a 35mm negative frame yet thin enough to be placed in (one would assume) the back of a normal 35mm camera... No products yet but it's interesting stuff.
Kodak post 3.0.10 firmware for DCS330
This just in from Kodak, they've posted a new release of firmware for the DCS330, consistent with their recent updates to the DCS5x0/6x0 this new firmware features the easier to use drop-down menu user interface along with several other enhancements.
January 11
0
"Kodak sees silver demand unhurt by digital cameras" which is kinda funny.. still, you just can't tell with Kodak these days... "Proliferation of affordable digital cameras will hardly affect silver demand from the photo industry, and in fact, the new technolgy complements and is helping grow conventional film use, according to Eastman Kodak."
0
{Summary}
January 10
In an announcement today Nikon cut $100 off the list price of their Coolpix 950 and Coolpix 800 digital cameras, Coolscan 2000 and Coolscan III film scanners which will undoubtedly have a knock on effect on the street price. Good news for buyers, looks like the 3+ megapixel digicams have put their pressure on the market.
January 9
LuraWave in action!
0
After the interest and much discussion triggered by my coverage of the JPEG 2000 specification news article and my pointers to the LuraWave plugin I decided to publish a full gallery in LuraWave format. A new gallery, the second samples gallery for the Sony DSC-F505 has just been put up in LuraWave format.
Updated: Sony DSC-F505 review and samples
Sony, good to their word supplied me with a production DSC-F505 to update my earlier review which was based on a pre-production camera. Not much to update however, test results matched the pre-production model, I've reshot the F505 vs. CP950 comparison and produced a new gallery of images (published in LuraWave wavelet format).
January 8
Thanks to Yamada's Digital Camera News for this news from CES 2000, Toshiba will be releasing the PDR-M70, a 3.3 megapixel ,3X zoom, SmartMedia digicam priced initially at US$899. Toshiba were also showing a rather interesting digital video camera with a 2 megapixel CCD and PCMCIA Type 2 storage... funky.
Professional Photographer Rob Galbraith has been busy contacting representitives of Kodak and Canon to lay to rest some rumours around Canon's answer to Nikon's D1 and the supply of EOS1n and F5 bodies to Kodak for their DCS520/560 & DCS620/660. 'The rumour mill has been in full swing over the holiday season. A number of you have written in requesting additional information about Canon's answer to the Nikon D1 as well as the discontinuation of the DCS 620, DCS 520 and EOS D2000.'
January 7
Silicon Film's EFS-1 may become a reality
A piece of technology which has taunted traditional 35mm SLR owners for a long time was the promise of a "digital film" insert for their camera. After a name change and over 18 months Silicon Film have announced that their CMOS digital film with 64MB of RAM will become a reality in this first half of this year. Priced at less than $800 but with a 2.8 focal length multiplier and only compatible with certain cameras...
PC Watch report from Mac World
Impress PC Watch's digital camera reporter Yamada reports from the Macworld Expo 2000 in San Francisco. There's the oh-so-cute-and-cuddly iMac coloured SDC-80 digicam from Samsung (0.8 megapixel). Two reference Zip storage 2.1 megapixel digital cameras from Iomega, one 3x zoom, one 4x zoom. Creative technology were showing their Mac compatible Webcam Go and IPIX were showing their 360 degree lens on the Nikon D1.
January 6
Canon Powershot S20
0
Say hello to the Canon Powershot S20, a 3.34 Megapixel version of the S10, it's almost identical (except for its new golden skin) in specification to the S10, the big difference is the 40% increase in image area (2048 x 1536 vs. 1600 x 1200) due to the new big CCD. The Canon BeBit site have just posted specifications and four sample images.
Fuji MX-1700 wins Innovations 2000 Award
Fuji Photo Film U.S.A., Inc. has announced that its MX-1700 ZOOM digital camera will be honored today with an Innovations 2000 award for design and engineering excellence from the Consumer Electronics Association (CEA) at the 2000 International Consumer Electronics Show in Las Vegas. A panel of industry experts comprised of industrial designers, engineers and industry trade media, selected Innovations 2000 winners.
Press Release: Q-Research Inc., maker of digital image enhancement programs, has announced an agreement to package its PhotoGenetics software with Casio's newest digital cameras. In addition, Q-Research has announced marketing alliances with Ariston Technologies and d-store.com.
January 5
Kodak release v1.1 firmware for DC280
Just browsing over at the Kodak website I noticed they've just release a firmware update for the DC280, features are listed as: "Improved USB communication, Eliminates lens retraction delay on power down while camera is still processing an image, Improved battery level sensing to more accurately report the battery level for NIMH batteries, Firmware bug fixes". There's also a maintenance release for Mac connectivity to DC240 / DC280.
Nikon Coolpix 950 wins Macworld 1999 Editors Choice
The Nikon Coolpix 950 has won the Macworld 1999 Editors Choice Award for the category of Digital Camera. Other products which won awards were the Palm IIIe, Apple Studio Display, Diamond Rio 500.
January 4
PC Watch post QV3000EX samples and article
The excellent Impress PC Watch are first again, they've posted an article and samples (nine) from (a beta) Casio's new 3.34 Megapixel QV-3000EX. The samples are pretty good for a beta camera...
Casio, late comer to the digicam market stir things up by being the first to announce a 3+ megapixel digital camera. In an older article back in September I noted Sony's announcement of a new 3.34 megapixel CCD's (ICX252 series). Now the 3+ megapixel race is on beginning with the Casio QV-3000EX, a 3 megapixel (2048 x 1536), 3X optical zoom digital camera with a fast F2.0 lens, USB and CF Type II support. On sale? March. Retail price? $999
January 2
0
And here's to 2000 and the coming of age of Digital Photography (hopefully we'll have buckets full of 3+ megapixel digital SLR's). The last year has been a blast, and I'm extremely happy that this site has grown from the little single review page (Canon Pro 70) to the (hopefully useful) popular site it is today. I've big plans for this site next year, many thanks to all my visitors, sponsors, manufacturers and:
Just posted! Kodak DC290 review
No rest for the wicked... We've just posted our long awaited (and long drawn out thanks to Christmas and New Year commitments), the DC290 is certainly an interesting camera with very good image quality, I did have my share of "however's" though... '...I suspect many D260/DC265 owners were hoping for much more than the DC290, something to compete with the best 2+ megapixel digicams on the market...'
December 31
Megapixel.Net January 2000 issue out
The excellent bi-lingual monthly digicam magazine Megapixel.Net has their January 2000 issue available, including reviews of the Casio QV-2000UX, Olympus C-2500L, Nikon Coolpix 800 and Sony Mavica MVC-FD73. They also have an article on resolution vs. sharpness and a large capacity storage roundup.
December 29
BERLIN - The International Standards Organization's JPEG2000 committee has finalized specs for a new algorithm that compresses images up to 200 times with no appreciable degradation in quality. The JPEG2000 spec, which will become ISO 15444 when it's officially approved in 2001, uses wavelet transformations instead of Fourier transforms to achieve the performance gain. UPDATED
December 27
Ok, good news Nikontech USA have also posted the 1.3 firmware, so it's now available for all 950's (PAL or NTSC). UPDATED
Just found this interesting article over on DigitalDarkroom which is a comparitive look at the quality of "photo inkjet" printers vs. dye-sub printers.. These comparisons were done by "Nai-Chi Li": "For a long time, I wanted to see for myself how well does the best (consumer-grade) inkjet printer stack up against a dye-sub printer. I finally got the opportunity to do so. I have printed a high-resolution test image (3360x2240x24 bits) from these three photo printers: Epson 700, Epson 750, and the Alps MD-5000 dye-sub. Please come take a look at my comparison scans, and see if you agree with my observations"
Yet another interesting EETimes article: A new approach to CMOS image sensor design offers unprecedented image quality by eliminating fixed pattern noise from the equation, according to Photon Vision Systems LLC.
December 24
Merry Christmas 1999!
0
Here's wishing all our visitors a very Merry Christmas.. Don't over-indulge on the Christmas Food but DO over-indulge on digital photos.. keep shooting!! (PS. Hope Santa brought you some nice digital photography surprises!)
December 23
Here's an interesting story: Nearly 19% of high-end cameras sold in October were digital cameras, according to leading marketing information provider NPD INTELECT. 'High-end' refers to cameras sold for more than $50. Sales for the burgeoning category were up significantly over the same period last year, when only 7% of all cameras sold (above $50) were digital.
December 22
Flash Cards seek the upper hand
Just read this interesting article over at EETimes on Flash cards and how common place they're becoming, an interesting read... Stamp-sized flash storage cards are in position to become a universal media for off-line digital content while enabling the exchange of data or entertainment content among various digital consumer electronics products. Several proposed formats now vying to become the de facto storage media for consumer products will be showcased at the Consumer Electronics Show (CES) early next month in Las Vegas.
December 20
Epson Stylus Photo 870 - 10 year prints
Just got a message from my good friend Tham Kok Leong over at Digital Darkroom, it's not often that we mention printers on this site but being the proud owner of an Epson Stylus Photo 750 I feel that I should mention Epson's latest printer the 870 with the promise of longer lasting prints (claimed 10 years), edge-to-edge printing and "photo rolls" the ability to produce 35mm-like prints at home with a good quality digital camera and printer is already here.
Agfa ship ePhoto CL30 Clik!
(Actually this is more of an Iomega press release...) Iomega Corporation (NYSE: IOM), a leader in smart, portable storage solutions, and Agfa Corporation's Desktop Products Group (USA-DTP), a leading provider of award-winning digital cameras and desktop scanners, today announced that Agfa is shipping the first ever digital camera with a built-in Iomega Clik!(TM) drive, called the ePhoto CL30 Clik! digital camera. This ePhoto CL30 Clik! digital camera will allow consumers to save approximately 60 megapixel, or near 35 millimeter quality, images on one removable 40MB Clik! disk that is about as affordable as purchasing and developing a roll of film, but has the added bonus of being reusable.
December 19
3,000,000 visitors
0
"So, that's another million then", he says casually. I never dreamt that DPR could ever become as popular as it has done, back in August we broke the 1,000,000 visitor barrier, I predicted at the time that we'd just make it through 2,000,000 by the year 2000. Well, we broke through that at the end of October and here now up to 500,000+ unique visitors per month I'm beginning to loose count!
December 16
Vol 14. of Impress Digital Camera Magazine
Impress Digital Camera magazine is published in Japanese, they always setup a website for their readers to view images discussed in the printed magazine. Issue fourteen has just been released along with sample images from many new cameras including the Oly C2020Z, Minolta RD3000, Kodak DCS330, Epson CP800S, Ricoh RDC5300 and others. There are also three pages of image comparisons of the same scene shot with different cameras. Plus a Nikon D1 vs. F5 report. [EXCELLENT STUFF]
ACDSee gets even better
The excellent, fast and flexible thumbnailer / image viewer ACDSee (my image manager of choice) has just been updated to version 3.0, it now supports digital camera "metadata" which means you can now retrieve the exposure information from your digital camera images.
December 15
Canon post S10 firmware update
Only two days ago it was noted that Canon Germany had (too hastily it turns out) posted a firmware update to fix the incompatibility S10 owners were suffering with the IBM Microdrive (CF Type II storage card). The update is now available on Canon's BeBit website for download by S10 owners. UPDATED.
Imaging Resource post a Sony DSC-F505 review
And again they came to a similar conclusion I did "With the DSC-F505s unique rotating lens and its movie recording capabilities, you get a fun camera that takes great pictures too. The sharpness of the Carl Zeiss optics show in the final images, and we really like the "real camera" manual-focus option. The full 5x optical zoom is a big plus that we wish more manufacturers would adopt."
After reading the "rumor" on Steves-Digicams about the Canon S20 I contacted one of my industry contacts who confirmed: Canon S20 (name may change), Same form factor as S10, 3.3 Megapixels, 2x zoom, USB, CF I & II, shipped with 16MB CF card.
December 14
Just posted! Nikon Coolpix 800 review
We've just finished off the Nikon Coolpix 800 review, a little camera which packs a big punch, delivers image quality when it matters and is easy to use. As a cut down version of its bigger brother the 950 it's inherited some great features and yet it retails at $200 less...
December 13
Kodak v3.0.9 firmware & v5.8.1 acquire
After releasing v3.0.8 for the DCS520 / 560 last week Kodak have just posted v3.0.9 firmware for the DCS 620 / 660. The companion "acquire" software is also updated to v5.8.1. This update brings in-camera JPEG mode, support for dual storage cards and more... see inside. (Thanks to Rob Galbraith for this one)
Kingston launch high capacity ATA Flash Cards
If you own/use a Kodak Pro DCS or Sony DSC-D7x0 digital camera then this story may interest you. You can now get 0.5GB capacity on an ATA card! Kingston� Technology Company today announced the expansion of its Flash memory product line with the introduction of high-capacity ATA Flash cards ranging up to 512MB. The new cards set a new low price point at approximately $2.73/MB for a 512MB ATA Flash card.
Ofoto Offers $50 Million of Free Photos
Ofoto Offers $50 Million in Free Photos to First Million Members: Ofoto Jump-Starts Online Photo-Finishing With Free Prints for the Millennium. Ofoto Inc. today announced that beginning immediately it will give away $50 million in free prints through January 15, 2000. Ofoto (www.ofoto.com) makes it easy for people to upload the digital photos they take and then purchase high quality photographic prints at very affordable prices. Ofoto will reward its first one million members with 100 free 4``x 6'' prints to be used any time in the year 2000. Consumers that take advantage of this offer will also receive free shipping for their first order.
December 10
Uh Oh.. I've had to pull the article I wrote on the D1 vs. DCS620 noise. It turns out the images Kristian Linnemann for sent me for the D1 were shot at ISO200 not at ISO1600 as he'd claimed... I don't know who to believe right now so I'm waiting to peform these tests FOR MYSELF... If you want something doing properly... sigh.
Imaging Resource post Canon S10 review
The guys over at Imaging Resource have just posted a Canon S10 review, looks like they came to a very similar conclusion as me "Canon's remarkable little 2.1 megapixel digicam, the PowerShot S10. We say "remarkable", because it's not only the smallest digicam currently on the market, but it takes pictures of exceptional quality: Color, detail, and tonal range are all excellent, comfortably in the top tier of the current two megapixel marketplace."
December 9
After numerous requests from many visitors we've initiated a weekly newsletter which will contain a summary of all that's new in the Digital Photography world from the previous week. To receive this newsletter once a week simply enter your email address in the box provided (right side of this news column) and click 'Go'.
Plucked out this interesting article from EETimes: "Digital still cameras could rival the image quality of 35-mm film photography within a couple of years due to a charge coupled device (CCD) image sensor with over six million pixels developed by Philips Semiconductors (Eindhoven, Netherlands). "
December 8
Rob Galbraith over at his excellent Digital photojournalism site has noted that one of his readers reported a potential incompatibility between the new v3.0.8 firmware (for Kodak Professional DCS cameras 520 & 560) and Lexar Media cards.
Fuji announce rough and tough 230HD
What, a new camera? Yeah, it's been a while. Today Fuji Japan announced its waterproof and dustproof "Big Job" DS-230HD, with a 1.5 megapixel CCD and 28mm fixed lens, this camera is obviously aimed at the construction industry. It'll be release in Japan in February 2000 at 99,800 YEN (US$890).

Last year at this time most, if not all, of the popular digital cameras were sold out for Christmas. Anyone trying to get their hands on a Nikon Coolpix 900s or Olympus D-320, among others were sadly disappointed.

This year we are starting to see similar shortages all over again. The combination of an overseas earthquake about six weeks ago, and strong consumer demand, are making it tough for manufacturers to keep up, thus leaving many retailers without enough product.

Imaging Resource post a review of the Kodak DC215, Dave says "With its simplified controls and focus-free lens, the Kodak DC215 camera is clearly intended to meet the needs of the point & shoot user, and succeeds well in that goal. First-time users will appreciate its simplicity and ease of use. At just exactly a megapixel, the DC215's resolution is adequate for ~4x6 prints, but will look noticeably soft if enlarged much beyond that size. "
December 7
Kodak v3.0.8 firmware & v5.8.1 acquire
Kodak post v3.0.8 firmware for the Kodak DCS 520 / 560. The companion "acquire" software is also updated to v5.8.1. This update brings in-camera JPEG mode, support for dual storage cards and more... see inside. (No news on DCS 620 / 660 v3.0.8 yet).
December 6
Just posted: Olympus C-2500L Review
Just added a complete in-depth (and long term) review of the Olympus C-2500L, this is an impressive camera with plenty of features and a very nice feel to it, great image quality and colour accuracy. I did have my share of niggles with this one though...